Chicago Province

Susanne Nelson-Helms

Provinces are a division of the National Council of Catholic Women; the Chicago Province consist of the:

  • Archdiocese of Chicago Council of Catholic Women:
    • The Belleville Diocese Council of Catholic Women
    • The Joliet Diocese Council of Catholic Women
    • The Peoria Diocese Council of Catholic Women
    • The Springfield Diocese Council of Catholic Women
    • The Rockford Diocese Council of Catholic Women

The Chicago Province plans various annual state-wide events for all women in the state. These events range from state-wide ‘Catholics at the Capitol’ days at the state Capitol in Springfield, Ill., Province Conventions, and other state-wide Province assemblies, workshops and events.

Each archdiocesan or diocesan president represents all of the affiliated parish and deanery/vicariate CCWs, and individual members at Province meetings.

The Province Director is elected and appointed by each Province in a sequential pattern at two-year intervals, and represents her Province at board meetings for the NCCW.

For more information, please visit